Home News PCATP announces the sole winner of Yasmeen Lari Award

PCATP announces the sole winner of Yasmeen Lari Award


KARACHI: Pakistan Council of Architects and Town Planners (PCATP) announced the sole winner of Yasmeen Lari Award, a design award to honour the legendary architect Yasmeen Lari, the first woman architect of Pakistan and the founder chairperson of PCATP.

The Jury held its meeting in Karachi on January18, 2019 and unanimously selected a design proposal submitted by Co-Lab Initiative with two Honorable mentions – a mosque design in Sheikhupura by architect Hassan Raza, and Roots Millennium School in Lahore by Architect Mobin Ahmad.

The Jury for this competition comprised eminent architects Ejaz Ahed, Murad Jamil, Sajjad Kausar, Imrana Tiwana and included Town Planner Maqsood Jaffri, and Feryal Gohar, Cultural Heritage Consultant along with Chairman PCATP Architect Asad I.A. Khan serving as Advisor.

It may be noted that it was through Lari’s tireless commitment and perseverance that an Ordinance was promulgated by the President of Pakistan for the formation of the Pakistan Council of Architects and Town Planners in 1983. Ms. Yasmeen Lari remained actively associated with the Council as its chairperson from its inception till 1987. The Executive Committee of the PCATP in its AGM agreed to institute an Award and honour Ms. Yasmeen Lari.  The Award was initiated in September, 2018 and was open to architects & planners under the age of 50 – as a measure to recognize young talent.

The Award carrying a price of Rs. 250,000 will be given in a ceremony to be held in March 2019 at the Annual General Body Meeting of the Council. News Desk

Load More Related Articles
Load More By editor
Load More In News

Check Also

Pizza Di Rocco Celebrates 10th Anniversary with Launch of ‘Team Treats’ – A Special Offering for Corporate Celebrations

ABU DHABI: Pizza Di Rocco, the multi award-winning traditional Italian Pizzeria, is proud …