Home Business & Finance Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup returns following last year’s cancellation

Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup returns following last year’s cancellation


The annual Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup is back and there’s a lot of enthusiasm surrounding its return. The tournament, which attracts senior executives from the travel retail industry is taking place over two days at the Montgomerie Golf Club Dubai on 24th November and Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club on 25th November, respectively.

Now on its 28th edition, the invitational golf tournament has attracted over 85 executives from the international duty free industry with around 45 overseas players set to descend in Dubai after a gap of two years.

The tournament kicks off directly after this year’s Middle East and Africa Duty Free Association (MEADFA) conference in Dubai, and both events are a positive indicator for the travel retail industry which has been severely impacted by the pandemic.

Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman & CEO of Dubai Duty Free described this year’s return of the golf tournament as a welcome celebration for the duty free industry. He said, “The response to this year’s tournament has been great and, while we are missing some of our friends due to Covid-19 travel restrictions, we are delighted that so many were able to join us here in Dubai. We are also happy to welcome back Des Smyth as the golf pro of the tournament.”

The stableford competition is open to all male and female amateur players with a valid handicap of 28/36 or less. Winners are selected from the Men’s and Ladies Division and Senior’s category from age 50+, 65+ and 70+.

The past champions of the Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup include Steve Flanagan (1993/1996); Raimund Legnar (1994); Brendan O’Shea (1995); Noel Fox (1997- 2000); Jan Baljet (2001); Ulrik Moller (2002); Adel Zarooni (2003-2004); Art Miller (2005); John Kammerman (2006); Nayma Maya (2007); Mark Van Huesden (2008); James Kfouri (2009); Gurbax Singh (2010); Clark Francis (2011); Rabih Sfeila (2012); Dermot Davitt (2013); Denise Kennedy (2014), Bayer Khan (2015), Scott Campbell (2016), Clark Francis (2017), Cees van Dooren (2018) and Richard Lombard-Chibnall (2019).

Following the first day of golf on 24th November, guests will be invited to relax and enjoy Dubai Duty Free’s customary hospitality at the ever-popular The Irish Village in Garhoud, with special entertainment lined up for the evening. 

November/December are traditionally busy months for Dubai Duty Free and this year is no exception. In recent weeks, the operation has supported the Dubai Airshow and the DP World Tour Championship – Race to Dubai and will soon be flying the flag at the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby 7’s and the Dubai Duty Free Sailing League Regatta. All of this brings the retail operation right up to the celebration of its 38th anniversary in December when the operation celebrates with its customers and staff.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By editor
Load More In Business & Finance

Check Also

Tetra Pak extends nutrition partnership with Islamabad United for the sixth year

ISLAMABAD: Tetra Pak Pakistan announced the extension of their partnership with Islamabad …